Babydaddy’s birthday/ Valentine’s Day present

Today’s project is a little gift for BD.

Thanks, Lady L.

I think it’s important here to mention (if only for the sake of getting some sympathy) that BD’s birthday falls on Valentine’s Day.  This pretty much guarantees that V-Day will never be about me.  Boooo-urns.  This year it shouldn’t make a difference anyway since we’ve decided to buy tickets to Shen Yun Performing Arts for our birthdays.  So … no “real” gifts.

So Pixibug and I made a little gift for BD.

First, I found a onesie that didn’t have any pattern or design on it.  That is easier said than done, let me tell you.  Luckily, I got a bagful of clothing from my friend and former colleague, Lady L.  This hot little number was included in the stash.

I got some felt that I picked up for another project. I’ll give you a hint:  It starts with “building” and ends with “blocks”.  I’d like to say that the felt is made from plastic bottles.  Yay for recycling!

I also bought some Heat-Bond which is a fusible web.  Yah, I had no idea what that was either but the ladies at Fabricland were happy to help.  Basically it’s like an iron-on double sided tape.  It’s great fun!

I got the idea here by the way.  I got many ideas there.  It’s a very cool site.

drawing the design

the cut-out pieces

Basically, all you have to do is iron the Heat-Bond onto the felt, draw the design on the paper, peel the backing off and then iron the design onto the garment.  Easy peasy lemon squeezy.

Finally, I took some fabric paint (which I had left over from my Halloween costume) and wrote a little message to BD right on it.

Super-simple and quick.  It took me about 10 minutes and I used mostly just scraps I had around the house and a donated piece of clothing.  What could be better!?

All done!

Just make sure you don’t tell Babydaddy.  Shhhhhhhhhh

What are your Valentine’s Plans if any?

3 responses to this post.

  1. Love this!!! I have a slight felt addiction…we gave my oldest daughter a kitchen for Christmas and I made a bunch of felt food to go with it. Super fun!

    No plans for Valentine’s Day…not a real important holiday for us. I’m making sugar cookies with my oldest and decorating them and I’ll get her to make a card for her daddy and her sister.

    Happy Birthday to your hubby!

    Reply

  2. LOL I made a carrot for my dog. Felt food is perfect! I’m also thinking that a story board with little felt characters will be great eventually since felt sticks to itself so nicely.
    Enjoy your sugar cookies!

    Reply

  3. […] in reference to my post about BD’s Birthday/Valentine’s present here’s what it looks like on the model: […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

