Felt

It’s not a verb, it’s a material made of what used to be plastic bottles.  And it’s my new favourite thing to sew with.

When I’m not ironing it on to baby clothes, I make toys with it.

I bought the felt at Fabricland but you can get it anywhere… I’m guessing it would be cheaper at Walmart for a big ol’ bag of it, but I got it for 79cents/sheet and it’s recycled so there.

The first thing I made was a set of soft baby blocks.  They turned out really nicely. I got the idea from one of my favourite websites. You can see the detailed instructions there if you like.

Essentially, I just cut out the squares and fit them together in what we math folks like to call a cube “net”.  It’s easy.  My grade 2 students can figure it out. 🙂

Before sewing it together though, I appliqued felt numbers, letters, and pictures on each square. 

The instructions say to sew it, but I felt lazy and used the fusible web stuff to iron the pieces together.  I should have sewn it as some of the letters are peeling a bit.  I don’t think fusible web is meant for felt on felt.

No worries though, I’ll sew them on with some embroidery floss before Pixibug is big enough to enjoy playing with them.  Don’t want her swallowing that little felt cat!

I stuffed them with some of the thousand plastic bags I have in the house. They make a satisfying crinkly sound.  After the first one, I put other sounds in the last three.  One block has a couple jingly bells in it. Another block has a small pill bottle with rice in it.  The last block has a small pill bottle with pennies in it.  So they all make a different sound.  Pix will enjoy that, I think.

I also made a dog toy for Bitchy dog.  Her favourite food is carrots.  So, I made her one with a jingle bell inside it.  I like the look of the stitching on the outside… and it’s way easier than trying to stuff it inside out.

You’ll notice that the blocks also have the seams out.  I did that on purpose both for ease of execution and for style.  I may try some blocks with the seams inside at some point.  I’m considering pyramid shaped blocks, or even a soft ball made of felt.  Felt is so fun!  Hey, Mommies need to get their fun wherever they can, right?

My next project will likely be letters and numbers made of felt.

3 responses to this post.

  1. These are awesome Al! you should look into needle felting… pictures made on felt by stabbing it repeatedly. Yes it is as fun as it sounds…..

    Reply

    • OMG Liz, I’m so excited about this! I’m actually buying a beginner kit online! Thank you! 🙂
      (some day I hope to try mudslinging… but it’s harder to do in your own home unless you really want to commit to it)

      Reply

  2. yes it is, but you can often find pottery classes nearby. in the meantime you will love the needlefelting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

