headbands

So while I was at Wal-mart today I was overcome with a strange urge to make baby headbands.  To be honest, I always thought they were a little silly.  Babies have no hair, but people insist on wrapping an elastic around their poor little bald heads anyway.  They are useless and cute – and to me BP (before Pixiebug) useless and cute was not something that ever interested me.

The real reason I thought it would be a good idea for Pix, is because she IS so very bald.  A little androgynous actually, except for the adorable big blue eyes and mile-long eyelashes… oh who am I kidding? Baby boys have those eyes too.  With one of these cute little headbands, she is obviously a SHE.  So a little less useless. (if gender/sex is important – which to my surprise it is: I for some reason get a little miffed when she’s wearing a dress and someone asks if she’s a boy or a girl. I suppose at this age most of her identity is in the boy/girl distinction… sad, but true)

Anyway, here is the result of my 10$ Wal-mart shopping spree and the 1/2 hour I spent watching season 3 of Roswell this afternoon.  On the model:

The fruits of my labours

4 responses to this post.

  1. Looks great!!

    p.s. – I also have an androgynous baby. She can be wearing all pink, in a dress and tights, sitting in her car seat with a pink cover and still gets a boy.

    Reply

  2. My boy, always looked like a boy to me. He was sturdy, and not girly at all. Although he did have those mile long lashes, he was definitely masculine. I dressed him like a boy, and still people mistook him for a girl. Drove me nuts. When girl child came along, it didn’t happen as much, I think because people had some thing to compare, it became more obvious that they were not the same gender. I never thought it would matter to me, but it really did. for the record, pixiebug is totally a girl through and through. And my princess may now sport heavy metal/punk rock tshirts and blue hair, but she is recognized as a girl now.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Mary Ann on April 7, 2011 at 8:25 pm

    LOVE them! I like that they are small. So nice looking.

    Reply

  4. People constantly ask if I have boy/girl twins. Poor Dakota is always the girl…

    Love the headbands!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

